jueves, 30 de junio de 2016

June Reading Challenge Update

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

My first month of vacation has gone by:(  But thanks to no school I've been able to catch up on my reading. I was like two months behind in this years new releases.

The Goodreads Reading Challenge 

I kept this one at 200 books for this year and I think I'll leave it at 200


Young Adult Book Club's Quarterly Challenge #22 

I'm halfway done with this one and still have two months to finish it.

1) Read a book that is a new release published in June, July or August of 2016. 


2) Read a book whose title starts with one of the letters of the word SUMMER: Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw 



3) June 3 is Repeat Day. Re-read a book of your choosing!



4) June 23 is Pink Day. Read a book with your favourite colour on the cover!



5) June 24 is FAIRY DAY!!!!!! Read a book about fairies, fae or a fairy tale retelling: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas 



6) July 1 is Canada Day! As a Canadian I'm super proud of my country and would love if you would read a book written by a Canadian author. 



7) July 2 is I Forgot Day and since I forgot to do it for the second year in a row it's belated Spring Cleaning Day! Read a book from the bottom of your TBR pile: A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin



8) August is Romance Awareness Month. Read a book that either had a great romance or my choice, has no romance: The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood



9) August 9 is Book Lovers Day. Read any book of your choosing or a book recommended by a friend!



10) August 27 is Franchise Appreciation Day. Read a book that is part of a series: Ruined by Amy Tintera 


martes, 28 de junio de 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: And I Darken by Kiersten White

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spinethat spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



Title: And I Darken
Series: The Conquerors Saga #1
Author: Kiersten White
Date Published: July 7th 2016 
Publisher: Corgi Children's

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwyla likes it that way.

Ever since she and her brother were abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman sultan’s courts, Lada has known that ruthlessness is the key to survival. For the lineage that makes her and her brother special also makes them targets.

Lada hones her skills as a warrior as she nurtures plans to wreak revenge on the empire that holds her captive. Then she and Radu meet the sultan’s son, Mehmed, and everything changes. Now Mehmed unwittingly stands between Lada and Radu as they transform from siblings to rivals, and the ties of love and loyalty that bind them together are stretched to breaking point.

The first of an epic new trilogy starring the ultimate anti-princess who does not have a gentle heart. Lada knows how to wield a sword, and she'll stop at nothing to keep herself and her brother alive.
 



I'm not a huge fan of the cover but the blurb has me hooked:)



lunes, 27 de junio de 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: FREEBIE WEEK

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week's topic:

Top Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed  

1) Eve by Anna Carey

 When I first read this series I absolutely loved it but after a re-read I was incredibly annoyed by it.

2) The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater

Like the option above I loved this series back in 2012 but now I couldn't make it past the first book. That being said I still love the book that centers around Cole and Isabel.

3) Deluxe: How Luxury Lost Its Luster by 
The first time I read this I found it quite boring but after starting college I found it incredibly interesting.

4) Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer

I will be the first person to admit that I was part of the Twilight craze but now that  I'm older I seriously don't understand why I liked those books so much.



domingo, 26 de junio de 2016

Monday Book Recommendations: I'll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Monday is the day I choose what new books I’m going to start reading but I have so many books in my To Read Pile that sometimes it’s hard to choose so I have decided that on Monday mornings I’ll recommend some  of  my favorite books.



Title: I'll Give you the Sun
Series: -
Author: Jandy Nelson
Date Published: September 16th 2014

Publisher: Dial.

The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell

“We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.”


At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them. 

Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor. 

The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world. 

This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once. 



This book was pretty bizarre and quite a heavy reads at times but by the end of it everything came together very nicely. 

viernes, 24 de junio de 2016

Stacking The Shelves (86)

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. It is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends.

I'm finally starting to catch up to my 2016 reading list now that school's out but I've decided to only give myself two weeks of laziness so next week reading might slow down.







martes, 21 de junio de 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spinethat spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Title: All the Missing Girls
Series: -
Author: Megan Miranda
Date Published: June 28th 2016 
Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Like the spellbinding psychological suspense in The Girl on the Train and Luckiest Girl Alive, Megan Miranda’s novel is a nail-biting, breathtaking story about the disappearances of two young women—a decade apart—told in reverse.

It’s been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared from Cooley Ridge without a trace. Back again to tie up loose ends and care for her ailing father, Nic is soon plunged into a shocking drama that reawakens Corinne’s case and breaks open old wounds long since stitched.

The decade-old investigation focused on Nic, her brother Daniel, boyfriend Tyler, and Corinne’s boyfriend Jackson. Since then, only Nic has left Cooley Ridge. Daniel and his wife, Laura, are expecting a baby; Jackson works at the town bar; and Tyler is dating Annaleise Carter, Nic’s younger neighbor and the group’s alibi the night Corinne disappeared. Then, within days of Nic’s return, Annaleise goes missing.

Told backwards—Day 15 to Day 1—from the time Annaleise goes missing, Nic works to unravel the truth about her younger neighbor’s disappearance, revealing shocking truths about her friends, her family, and what really happened to Corinne that night ten years ago.

Like nothing you’ve ever read before, All the Missing Girls delivers in all the right ways. With twists and turns that lead down dark alleys and dead ends, you may think you’re walking a familiar path, but then Megan Miranda turns it all upside down and inside out and leaves us wondering just how far we would be willing to go to protect those we love.



I've liked Megan Miranda's last two book so I see no reason to give this one a try.


lunes, 20 de junio de 2016

Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week´s topic:

Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year 





domingo, 19 de junio de 2016

Monday Book Recommendations: A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Monday is the day I choose what new books I’m going to start reading but I have so many books in my To Read Pile that sometimes it’s hard to choose so I have decided that on Monday mornings I’ll recommend some  of  my favorite books.




Title: A Drop of Night 
Series: -
Author: Stefan Bachmann
Date Published: March 25th 2016 


Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Five gifted teenagers are selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace was sealed after the aristocrats fled there. No one has set foot in it for over two centuries.

Now, in the present day, the teenagers enter with cutting-edge technology, state-of-the-art security, scientists and chaperones. And then a brutal accident occurs. No way out. Caught in the dark.

They will have to fight to survive. But are they really alone in the depths?


This book is in one word starnge but still good, definitely worth the read.




viernes, 17 de junio de 2016

Stacking The Shelves (85)

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. It is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends.






 

The Little Book Pixie Copyright © 2012 Design by Antonia Sundrani Vinte e poucos