domingo, 30 de octubre de 2016

Monday Book Recommendations: The Safest Lies by Megan Miranda

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Monday is the day I choose what new books I’m going to start reading but I have so many books in my To Read Pile that sometimes it’s hard to choose so I have decided that on Monday mornings I’ll recommend some  of  my favorite books.



Title: The Safest Lies
Series: -
Author: Megan Miranda
Date Published: May 24th 2016
Publisher:Crown Books for Young Readers

Fans of Jennifer Donnelly and E. Lockhart will be captivated by this YA psychological mystery about a girl who must face her darkest fears—but can she outrun the past?
 
Kelsey has lived most of her life in a shadow of fear, raised to see danger everywhere. Her mother hasn’t set foot outside their front door in seventeen years, since she escaped from her kidnappers with nothing but her attacker’s baby growing inside her—Kelsey.
 
Kelsey knows she’s supposed to keep a low profile and stay off the grid for their protection, but that plan is shattered when her dramatic car accident and rescue by volunteer firefighter and classmate Ryan Baker sparks media coverage.
 
A few days later, she arrives home to find her mother missing. Now, to have a chance at a future, Kelsey will have to face her darkest fears. Because someone is coming for her. And the truth about the past may end up being the most dangerous thing of all.


I wasn't sure what to expect about this book, it was certainly a page turner. Megan Miranda has yet to fail me.

martes, 25 de octubre de 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios
Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spinethat spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Title: Timekeeper 

Series: Timekeeper 
Author:Tara Sim
Date Published: November 1st 2016
Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Two o’clock was missing. 

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.


I love all things Victorian Era and this book's blurb promises me an alternate Universe set in this era, please give it to me now.




lunes, 24 de octubre de 2016

Ten Creepy books

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios



Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week's topic:

Top Ten Creepy books

Not all of these book are super creepy but they do get you in the mood for Halloween





domingo, 23 de octubre de 2016

Monday Book Recommendations: Unrivaled by Alyson Noel

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Monday is the day I choose what new books I’m going to start reading but I have so many books in my To Read Pile that sometimes it’s hard to choose so I have decided that on Monday mornings I’ll recommend some  of  my favorite books.




Title: Unrivaled
Series: Beautiful Idols #2
Author: Alyson Noel
Date Published: May 10th 2016

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Layla Harrison wants to leave her beach-bum days for digs behind a reporter’s desk. Aster Amirpour wants to scream at the next casting director who tells her “we need ethnic but not your kind of ethnic.” Tommy Phillips dreams of buying a twelve-string guitar and using it to shred his way back into his famous absentee dad’s life.

But Madison Brooks took destiny and made it her bitch a long time ago.

She’s Hollywood’s hottest starlet, and the things she did to become the name on everyone’s lips are merely a stain on the pavement, ground beneath her Louboutin heel.

That is, until Layla, Aster, and Tommy find themselves with a VIP invite to the glamorous and gritty world of Los Angeles’s nightlife and lured into a high-stakes competition where Madison Brooks is the target. Just as their hopes begin to gleam like stars through the California smog, Madison Brooks goes missing. . . . And all of their hopes are blacked out in the haze of their lies.

Unrivaled is #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noël’s first book in a thrilling suspense trilogy about how our most desperate dreams can become our darkest nightmares.


My newest guilty pleasure, the plot is simple and the characters are kind of Cliché but it's just addicting.

martes, 18 de octubre de 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spinethat spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Title: Heartless 
Series:-
Author: Marissa Meyer
Date Published: November 8th 2016 
Publisher:Feiwel & Friends

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king's marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.



I'm a huge Marissa Meyer fan thanks to her Lunar Chronicles series and she is one of my automatic buy authors. I'm pretty excited to see how she retells Alice in Wonderland

lunes, 17 de octubre de 2016

Ten Characters I'd Name A Child After

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week's topic:

Top Ten Characters I'd Name A Child

In no particular order here are some names I've considered calling my future children:

1) Lily Potter

2) Lyra Balaqua

3) Adrian Ivashkov

4) Rose Hathaway

5) Sage Hannigan

6)  Sidney Sage

7) Luka Visraya

8) Tally Youngblood

9) Primrose Everdeen


10) Scarlet Benoit

domingo, 16 de octubre de 2016

Monday Book Recommendations: Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Publicado por Paulina J. en 21:30 0 comentarios

Monday is the day I choose what new books I’m going to start reading but I have so many books in my To Read Pile that sometimes it’s hard to choose so I have decided that on Monday mornings I’ll recommend some  of  my favorite books.



Title: Love and Gelato
Series: -
Author: Jenna Evans Welch
Date Published: May 3rd 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse

A summer in Italy turns into a road trip across Tuscany in this sweeping debut novel filled with romance, mystery, and adventure.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then Lina is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept from Lina for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and ever herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.


I'm not a huge contemporary YA fan but I really loved the writing in this one, it never felt pretentious.

 

The Little Book Pixie Copyright © 2012 Design by Antonia Sundrani Vinte e poucos